A Year of Reading & Writing


booksI’ve been slacking big time in the reading department and the writing department.

I start to read books, excellent books I might add and 20 pages in I put them down only to leave them there unread.

I start blog entries only to leave them as drafts.

Well I did submit a query letter to a lit agency in December, fingers still crossed that something positive will come of that.

But how can a writer proclaim to love the craft if they never indulge in it?

How can I sharpen my skills if I never put them to work?

I’ve dedicated my life mainly to being a mother and wife, however writing has always been a part of me that screams when I neglect it. So this year I promise to nurture my writing, to   indulge in juicy books, to write reviews, to blog regularly and to live this year in reading and writing bliss.

So here is just a snapshot of what I plan to read. Some of these are books that I began reading in the past and never finished, others are books that I’ve always wanted to read but haven’t or books that have sparked my interest and are on my to-do list.

The Purpose Driven Life by Rick Warren – own, began reading and never completed

The Rose Petal Beach by Dorothy Koomson -own, began reading and never completed (excellent storytelling might I add)

Another Brooklyn by Jacqueline Woodson -excellent reviews

The Good Lord Bird by James McBride – always wanted to read

Debbie Doesn’t Do It Anymore by Walter Mosley -caught my eye as a must-read

…..this is just a small portion of the list. Over the years there have been so many excellent pieces of fiction that there is no way that I can keep up with them all. Any good read suggestions.

Along with picking back up on my reading I sat a goal to start back my daily journaling and setting word count goals for my novel.

So heres to a year of Reading and Writing. Good luck to me and all the other book lovers  and lovers of the writing craft!

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

