Reading is Fundamental


keep-calm-she-s-back-4 I stopped reading.

I don’t know exactly when or exactly why but I stopped reading and it almost destroyed my life.

I went from an avid reader working on what was to be a best-selling novel, to a book, blog, magazine skimmer who wasn’t motivated to write anything more than a reminder on a sticky note. I didn’t read, nor did I write and you know what one very famous author had to say about wanna be writers who don’t read.

If you don’t have time to read, you don’t have the time (or the tools) to write. Simple as that.
― Stephen King

I slowly watched myself become a birdbrain. My vocabulary dwindled, my brain cells went from a fast cha-cha to a raunchy slow grind. I became a non reading, non writing, potty mouth procrastinator. Without books my vocabulary got reeeaaal ratchet. I seriously fell off.

Then I began to examine just how many aspects of my life were  affected by not reading. A simple conversation with a coworker opened my eyes to just how horrible my vocabulary had gotten.The simple sentence i spoke that day was full of broken English and double negatives. I went back to my desk and thought to myself Damn I need to read a book.

“Reading is to the mind what exercise is to the body.”
― Richard Steele

At that moment I realized just how much of an impact that reading had on my life. All those years I read books for fun, for leisure, for knowledge and for ideas I learned tons of words and their meanings. I got to travel to places in my mind that my feet will never physically touch the ground of. I got to live through others words and that is something I never want to lose the privilege of again.

My love for reading started when I was a child and once I realized that I had a story to tell I knew that I wanted to write books one day too. But I had to face reality that in the here and now the path I was traveling would never lead me to be a famous authoress like Maya, and that was my dream.

….and then I woke up. I realized that LIFE had handed me some lemons and instead of even attempting to make lemonade I stood there with the lemons crying. I didn’t read because those stories had LIFE to them whether good or bad and LIFE is what I was facing and it was winning…so who wants to read about something with LIFE when LIFE is giving you hell?

I say all of that to say this, I am awake now. I am back reading and writing and back dreaming. Will I promise to update this blog daily with long posts that make you go hmm NO I won’t make that promise; have I ever made that promise? No I haven’t —> click here if you need clarification

But I will use this blog as my voice. Back in 2006 when I started this blog I needed a voice and this blog gave me a place to say what I wanted to say, sometimes it was in the form of a poem, sometimes it was a heartfelt story or even sometimes a completely random rant, but they were all genuine and if you can expect anything else from me you can expect what you read here to be genuine.

P.S. Yes I have received and still receive your emails saying that you are following my blog (even when I don’t update for a year )and yes I do get your emails encouraging me to keep writing. I appreciate them all.

P.P.S. Yes I am back working on the book but I won’t give an estimated completion date. Ask me no questions I’ll tell you no lies

Leave a Reply

