BGT’s Betterment Journey (Post I: F!@k Yo Couch)


Come along with me on a journey to becoming a better person…….

I remember the very first time I launched into a string of expletives…..

I was around ten or eleven years old and cursing back then was something I had to sneak and do. You see I’m an 80s baby, I grew up in a period of time when it was in no way acceptable to curse in front of adults (unless you were told by an adult to use a specific curse word/s and that was the ONLY time it was acceptable) You could grow up in a household where every adult drank Champale  and cursed like sailors, yet you still knew that the very moment you so much as said damn, your ass was grass.

…..yep the 80s …good times people, good times. Any who, back to my potty mouth, I remember being either excited or upset about something and launching into a curse fit. It went something like this fuckyoushitbitchhodamnmuthafucka!

From that point on I was hooked. I would curse in my head. Outwardly you may have seen an eye roll and a little stomping away madness, but inside my head I was dropping “the F Bomb.”  I remember several times while in school I almost forgot myself and cursed in class. Thank God I never did because I also had a Black 80’s mother who would have come up to the school purse strap in hand ready to wear me out.

Let’s fast forward a few years to my teenage years. As a teenager cursing was a normal way of life for me. I still knew better than to curse in front of adults, but around friends, oh yeah buddy it went down, and I mean it went down in a big way! Let’s fast forward even more to my adult life….needless to say, it goes down and it goes down in a major way.

With that being said, as part of my journey into becoming a classier, more sophisticated, more respectable woman, I have decided that I shouldn’t be dropping “the F Bomb.”….well not unless it is completely unavoidable. I don’t know if there is ever a time that it is mandatory to say the F word, but I can think of quite a few times when I haven’t been able to avoid using it. But it’s not just the F word; I would like to stop cursing altogether. When I first decided that I’d had enough of my own bad language I honestly felt that I could not stop cursing. When I made the decision to stop no more than three hours into quitting I said “Fuck you muthafucka!” What a way to stop cursing huh? I guess that’s called going out with a bang!  No matter how hard I tried, I couldn’t stop cursing (in this case couldn’t means didn’t). I would be driving and drop “the F Bomb”.  I would receive bad customer service and call someone a female dog. I would stomp my toe and say the word that rhymes with hit. One of my favorite comedians is Dave Chappelle and watching his show and stand up acts didn’t make it any better. Once I heard his famous line “F!@k Yo Couch“,  it became my new haha line. I would use it frequently and I also liked to hear others say it. It was hilarious, it was wonderful, it made my day….It was horrible. That was a few years ago, and since then the cursing has decreased in volume, but in no way has it ceased,

 Now as a 29 year old woman, I know better and I want to do better. I made the decision (just now) to stop cursing. I want to be able to eliminate cursing from my vocabulary. This is just one of the many things involved in my Betterment Journey. A journey I describe as a form of Growth and Development (not the gang)  it basically means that I have come to a point in my life where I want to be the best that I can be. I want to look, act and reflect in every aspect of my life that of a classy lady. This means that I want to eat healthier, work harder, be positive and stop dropping “the F Bomb.” I know this will be a hard obstacle to tackle, but I am up for the challenge.

I am making a promise to myself that I will do better because I know better and it is the right thing to do.

sidenote:I saw a young lady yesterday who was in her early to mid twenties. She was on her cellphone and she was cursing up a storm. I mean that sistah was giving it a go! I was shocked, I was appalled, woooaah was that how I sounded? Granted I don’t normally curse excessively in public, but if this is how I sounded even in private I sounded like a cursing fool. That was even more encouragement to stop.

I may need this website to help me along the way —> Swear Word Filter

I typed in the words F!@k you whore just as a test (what??? I did it JUST AS A TEST lol) and the swear word filter gave me this to say instead,  “Fornicate You Hussy”   —–DEAD—–  Good one! 

…the journey begins

3 thoughts on “BGT’s Betterment Journey (Post I: F!@k Yo Couch)”

  1. I commend you Mona on bettering yourself. In my personal journey of bettering myself, I have found that certain people had a influence in my actions. IE: I’m not a curser but when I around those that are, I tend to let a few out myself. It’s true that your environment or the people whom you associate with influence you. Once I decided that I didn’t want to become that person, I removed people from my circle. Not that I think I’m better than the next but I WANT BETTER. Good luck on your journey and I wish you all the best in your endeavors of becoming that “Classy Lady” that you desire to be.

    Like

Leave a Reply

