Mo Money Taxes (classic coonery)


momoneyindexMo Money Taxes will never have BGT as a customer. I doubt that they care about lil ole me and my one little tax return, but I am one person who refuses to do business with them. They are on BGT’s silent protest list along with R. Kelly. This list is reserved for anything/anyone who I have chosen not to support. I don’t buy R. Kelly albums; I don’t do business with Mo Money Taxes! I may not go around carrying a picket sign and shouting on a loud speaker (hence it being called a silent protest) but it is definitely a protest.

The commercial below is a prime example of why I frown upon their business

Now some may find that commercial hilarious, but personally I find it derisive. Every year around tax season Mo Money Taxes begins to advertise their services with ghetto commercials that depict black people as low life income tax scavengers. The commercials would leave one to believe that black people live for tax season so they can buy a new car, new bling and get their hair and nails done, oh and don’t forget to buy a new set of discount furniture for their Section 8 home.

Now maybe if this was a one time deal from Mo Money Taxes I could sweep it under the rug as a low budget advertisement attempt, but no they have a new commercial each year at tax time, each one just as disturbing as the year before. Here is another Mo Money Taxes original

||hard roll of the eyes||


Usually I applaud black businesses and support them when I can, but Mo Money gets no money from BGT. I refuse to support their coonery and asinine attempts in drawing in customers with supposedly real depictions of black lifestyle.

The most recent Mo Money Taxes commercial is mocking Tyler Perry’s fictional character Madea. It is in turn called Ma’Madea. This new installment to the Mo Money Taxes commercial collection also draws a snarl from me. 

If there are black people getting a laugh out of this foolishness can you imagine the gut busting laughter that other people are experiencing….

||blank annoyed stare||

20 thoughts on “Mo Money Taxes (classic coonery)”

  1. Hey BGT…

    I can see your point. I watched the first Mo Money ad you posted and that was enough for me to see how they typecast people.

    I cannot speak as an African American because I am not. From the standpoint of who I am though, I do not like to see low standards set for anyone. This is the feeling I get from the ad. Encouraging a fairly low goal. “We’ll get you money fast so you can blow it on shallow vain consumer products and services becaus that is how stupid you are”.

    It strikes me as opportunistic.

    I an sure we can all do better than that.

    Ciao.

    Chaz

    Like

  2. I’m proud of your silent protest. I grew up in Memphis, and still consider it home. I am not black, but find these commercials offensive for all low income families. I don’t see how someone that has a job as serious as handling the tax refunds of people an make such light of the situtation. I have a sense of humor, but if H&R Block started running such inane commercials I wouldn’t use them either. It would seriously make me wonder about their credibility, and ability to represent me in the case of an IRS audit.

    Like

  3. @Margaret

    Thanks for stopping by and commenting.
    I totally agree, and if H&R Block would run commercials like this people would take offense, but some of these same ppl who would take offense laugh at this idiotic commericals by Mo Money Taxes.

    Like

  4. Well, I have people in my family who do taxes and I gonna learn how to do them my DAMN self. Hell, puttin’ out that money to pay THEM (and H&R block is expensive as HELL! I know because my Godmother is an accountant and does this kinda thing) I could use for something else.

    Like

  5. The first time I saw their commercial 2yrs ago after moving to Memphis I was appalled. They have done nothing but to prove just how stupid some of “us” are. I would suspect that these are the people who frequent their establishment. Hell I heard they’ll even find kids for you to claim only to get you audited years later.

    Pure Niggerdom at its finest!

    Like

  6. i get you girl i get you. dont get me wrong i know its ok to laugh at yourself but sometimes it gets to the point of ridiculousness (<- my word) i mean some things are ok but these ads are like 7th grade cheesy lol thanks for the comment btw hope to see some more of you on my page and hulkhatetimetravel….. peace!

    Like

  7. Y’all niggas DMNDS!!! Hate’n on one of the most successful Young & Black owned companies in America! Now who are the real COONS! (Y’all sum dumb ass niggaz)

    Like

  8. @ Sean G thanks for stopping by and commenting…but…
    You say that they are one of the most successful Young and Black Owned companies in America, and that may be true, but these commercials are classless and show no reflection of smart, respectable business men. They have loyal customers, but for those of us who like to see black people succeed and shine a brighter line on the black community businesses like Mo Money Taxes just don’t do it for us. Instead of shining a bright light they stereotype black people as money hungry income tax scanvengers..smh

    Like

  9. so now they have included trailertrash white folks in the mix too. What is with that white lady shaking her head like that? just disgraceful.

    Like

  10. I think these commercials go way beyond offensive. When the 3 black- suited goons are standing together and the one says “Let’s Roll” it causes the hair on the back of my neck to stand up. I want to take ahold of that guy and rip his face off like a chimpanzee! How dare he use those 2 words in this assinine commercial.???
    How can anyone, seriously ask why people are prejudiced ?????

    Like

  11. After watching this appalling commercial air twice within 30 minutes on television today, I decided to “Google” it to see what the general sentiment was. It appears that many are in agreement that the “coonery” and buffoonery that this commercial offers takes away this company’s credibility. I was also surprised to know that Mo’ Money Taxes has 250 locations nation-wide and these commercials are yearly events. Evidently it works for them and the narrow demographic that they are catering to – (the low income/unbanked, possibly). I’ll just be sure to steer clear of them in silent protest as well.

    Like

  12. I appreciate your thoughts on these commercials. I’ve only been privileged to see one of them. C,mon, putting the camera up close to a fish tank as if the office is flooding. Now using mo in a company name might fly for something lighter like food or toys, maybe, but not with someone that will be handling your taxes. I think it’s racist towards white and black people. It’s despicable, irresponsible, etc.. They should be pulled.

    Like

  13. It is best for “Black People” today to do their own taxes if want someone to lie for them, like claiming their Moma’s sister’s daughter’s child as a dependent on their taxes and expect someone to fall for that. Some of these coons go from Tax Service to Tax Service and then b**** about where is my money when you haven’t told he truth in years and want someone else to pay you money that the IRS took from you because you’ve done it so many times. The IRS will not let that fly and you will pay them back after doing it so many times. It is sad… and I mean sad to use a Black Business owner to take out your frustrations saying his commercials are unprofessional and their business practice lack the quality you expect them to have and most the people b****ing can’t keep a straight lie about who stays in their home and making fake W-2’s. Also, if they go into H&R Block or Jackson Hewitt with that Bulls*** they will be saying the same thing, they charge too much and they are scamming me. The service and professionalism in the office speaks for itself and not a bunch a “Black folk” trying to fake to make it and can’t pay their Light Bill. This is how we do it is not cutting it either. My taxes have been messed up by H&R Block and they have bogus charges for tax preparation. But Y’all rather let another company Y’all call a good honest company prepare them and charge you out the A** for the same service. Shame on you. And Mo Money Taxes been in business for how long Y’all. That’s all I have to say Black Girl Thinking.

    Like

  14. Thanks for stopping by and sharing your thoughts Brenda.

    Personally I do my own taxes and have done so for the last couple of years. This blog post was written because in my opinion the commercials are offensive. They are definitely not trying to appeal to people who they feel have class or are professional. Each year they air these commercials and in my opinion as I stated earlier they depict black people as if we can’t wait till tax time, all we do is buy cars and get our hair done with our taxes and basically the commercials are outright offensive.

    However Mo Money does have many customers who love their services. I would never be one of them because the commercials offend me so why would I patronize any company whose commericals I find offensive and discriminatory.

    And if they have been in business for so long AND everything is a.ok then why did they come out last year with a different name, different commerical that was VERY MUCH toned down than their normal commercials and the commercials were void of the foolishness?

    I don’t think that Mo Money taxes is a scam. However I do believe that their commercials depict black people in a negative way therefore I do not patronize their business AT ALL.

    Like

Leave a Reply

